About the Citizens' Assembly 2016 - 2018

The Assembly was a body comprising the Chairperson and 99 citizens, randomly selected to be broadly representative of the Irish electorate, established to consider some of the most important issues facing Ireland’s future.

The Assembly Members deliberated on the topics as outlined in the Resolution approving its establishment. Their conclusions on each topic formed the basis of individual reports and recommendations that were submitted to the Houses of the Oireachtas for further debate by our elected representatives.

Since October 2016, the Assembly met on 12 occasions under the chairmanship of the Honourable Mary Laffoy.

The Secretariat has prepared a fact sheet for quick reference about the operation and work of the Citizens' Assembly.